FOOD DRIVE: Reflections of a Volunteer

By: Lamasia Moss

Service-Learning is a teaching and learning strategy that integrates meaningful community service opportunities into a student’s coursework. Service Learning was a challenge course for me. I realized that I have to become more responsible and persistent if want to be successful in life. I learned how to network with people, and the importance of having an open mind when discussing different situations.

As nervous as I was, the mission and goal in participating in the Food Drive was to encourage people to donate and also collect donations. I wanted people to understand that there are less unfortunate people in the world and also within our community.

When I think about hunger, I envision fear, worry, a sense of unknowingness, and uncertainty. Not knowing when your next meal will be can bring the worse out of you. It can lead to depression and all types of mental disorders for some people. The Kingsborough community can encourage more students to get involved more with participating in the Food Drive or making fundraisers to donate and raise money for people in need of food.

Honestly my experience tabling was great. At first I was bit nervous because I haven’t been the most social person at Kingsborough. When people started coming up to me and conversing and interacting with me I became more confident with answering questions they asked regarding donating food. I felt like I really accomplished something which involved helping the Kingsborough Community. Also, I know I was able to help the families that are in need of food for the holidays. It made me appreciate life more and not to take life for granted.